Pythagoras And Me: Rae Stoltenkamp

I write about the good and bad angels we have sitting on each shoulder, about the strange creatures lurking at the periphery, about life and about death. And often I tango too.

This is a story inspired by my inexplicable loss of Maths knowledge as soon as I hit the age of fourteen.

*

I’m no good at Maths.  If Barry Fischer knew, he’d fire me.

On Wednesdays Barry Fischer from the main branch in Croydon, comes round to run his eye over the administrative goings on at our little Branch of HomingU in Camberwell.  There’s never anything for him to criticise but he’s done this for the last five years and no-one dares to tell him what a pompous ass he is.  So I’ve got an arrangement with my nephew, Kieron.  On Tuesday afternoons he stops by on his way home from school and sorts out my petty cash accounts, assesses the needs of the stationery cupboard, orders anything we’re running short of and keeps the accounting programme in order.

*

Click the link below to read the full text of this story.  Note that all stories are password-protected.  If you need a password for any of the stories on this site, or if you have a query about any of the writers or the work represented here, please get in touch with us using the contact form at the bottom of this page.

Pythagoras And Me

This entry was posted in Pythagoras And Me, Rae Stoltenkamp. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Pythagoras And Me: Rae Stoltenkamp

  1. Jane P says:

    hi Rae, I really like the way in your story a shameful secret turns into a positive life-changing conclusion. It’s very funny as well. Jane x

Leave a comment